Posted in Java

Setting up a Vagrant Java 8 Environment

Pretty simple setup thanks to Rob Murray’s Vagrant Java dev box setup.

Some of the issues I encountered with this setup were pretty easy to overcome, but I thought I would outline them here and eventually provide feedback to the author for completeness.

First of all I am using a Windows 7 host with VirtualBox 4.2.16, Vagrant 1.7.2 and git (on Windows 1.9.5.msysgit.0).

Follow the instructions within the link above. Apparently, the method of pulling the required source from git in one of the steps does not use the correct protocol so you will need to edit the following files within the “vagrant-javadev-box” directory:

.git/config

.gitmodules

Change all occurrences of git:/ and git@ with https:// because public access to GitHub repositories may only work with https.

For me Vagrant did not automatically setup/install the Java 8 JRE so I needed to do it manually.

Install the appropriate package so you can run the “add-apt-repository” command which specifies the appropriate repository where the Java 8 installation package is found.

sudo apt-get install python-software-properties

Install the repository

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:webupd8team/java

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install oracle-java8-installer

sudo apt-get install oracle-java8-set-default

Author:

I love to learn. I am not so interested in buzzwords when it comes to gadgets. I would rather see how they work. Software is no different. Just trying to be better one byte at a time ^_^